Not a day goes by

10 Apr

It’s true that there is not a day that goes by where I don’t find myself being cast back to the most incredible country and experience of my life. Without looking to hard there’s always something that can take me back. Whether I am on a train and thinking how boring and antisocial everyone is. In India trains were like parties. Big crowds, meeting and chatting with new people, you could even get Chai on the train! Or my utter excitement to find that the infamous Indian head wobble does exist in Australia. But what really takes me back is the people I met, worked and lived with, the people that really showed me India. I too like bec4890 keep a screen saver of the 6th standard class I taught.  In some ways I feel guilty in that I went to teach them but really feel like they taught me. I now feel I am living proof of the adage ‘those who teach, learn’. Inevitably I feel myself being pulled back into my own day to day woes, so I keep this picture up to remind me. India and its people taught me so much and I never want to forget it.

Not a day goes by and I don’t want it to.

3 Responses to “Not a day goes by”

  1. bec4890 April 11, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

    Your 6th Standard class and classroom looks so similar to mine! Where abouts in India were u?

    • clared22 April 11, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

      Hey Bec,
      I was staying 3 hours out of Mumbai at a place called Malvali, not many people know it. The school was in Pune. Where abouts in India did you teach?

      • bec4890 April 12, 2011 at 10:39 am #

        I was in Ajra, between Goa and Belgaum. Not many people have heard of it either. I am going back this year in July as a Tour Leader and the school I’m going to is in Pune

Leave a Reply

