Repetition and immunity

22 May

Found things like thisbreathtaking at first, then after a few weeks it didn’t phase me, its like I stopped seeing and I accepted that its just how things are.

It did make the time – off hard, and got me thinking about my standards of normality and if that was all I’d known, then to see a half empty sydney bus (esp the ones that don’t move until people are seated) would do my head in.

2 Responses to “Repetition and immunity”

  1. angelenepenguin May 22, 2011 at 11:16 pm #

    I definitely know where you are coming from! It’s sad to get desensitised to things that are so normal and basic but are a hugely precious commodity in the developing world. Or complaining about the momentarily cold weather then going home to sit in front of the heater, where people don’t even have a home to go to. Western perspectives are so distorted sometimes.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Broad overview: background | Phnom Penh Portfolio - June 19, 2014

    […] various assignments and projects, often for course credit. I was fortunate enough to go to India in 2010 and get an insight into how NGOs work in a sharply different context to what I was used to – […]

Leave a Reply

